National members

Our national members are independent, national organizations that develop and run the national forest certification system in their country. 

Myanmar Forest Certification Committee

History before PEFC 

MFCC Team with PEFC International CEO Ben Gunneberg

Myanmar Forest Certification Committee (MFCC) grew out of the Timber Certification Committee of Myanmar (TCCM). TCCM itself was created in 1998 as non-profit, non-political and impartial organization by a Myanmar Ministry of Forestry decree. The TCCM was transformed to MFCC in 2013.

A central part of MFCC’s mandate is to carry out forest and timber certification and to create an enabling environment for the sustainability of Myanmar’s forests. MFCC's activities cover the entire forest and non-forest products, and MFCC has been empowered to execute all processes of forest and timber related certification. MFCC also aims to support international market access for Myanmar forest products by formulating the reliable legal supply chain.

What are the benefits of being part of the PEFC alliance?

One direct benefit is that Myanmar will be on the PEFC platform with all aspects of our SFM and CoC systems transparent. We will be able to showcase all the work and progress Myanmar forestry has made and receive input and feedback on the positives and negatives of our work and plans. This will be critical in ensuring that we continually improve and stay on track with our Sustainable Forest Management.

Myanmar’s membership to PEFC demonstrates our commitment to SFM and serves as a benchmark for adhering to high SFM requirements within Myanmar.

System history

  • Joined PEFC: 30 May 2019


Myanmar Forest Certification Committee (MFCC)
Forest Compound, Bayintnaung Road,
West Gyogone,
Insein Township,
11011 Yangon,

Tel.: +95 9420178518

The Team

Mr. Barber Cho
National Secretary

Mr. Win Hlaing
Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Aung Kyaw Soe

Ms. Htet Htet Kyaw

Ms. May Zun Phyo
SFM Technical Officer

Ms. Moh Moh Maung Zin
Systems Development Officer

Ms. Thawdar Nyein
CoC Technical Officer

Mr. Aye Pyae Aung
Communication and Business Officer

Keep in touch

Subscribe to our newsletter