pefc logo frontpage DK

Caring for our forests globally
National Sites

Board of Directors


bill streetWilliam Street’s experience includes: Director of Research and Education of the International Woodworkers of America, US, the largest US labour union representing forest and mill workers; Director of the Global Wood and Forestry Program for the International Federation of Building and Wood Workers (now Building and Wood Worker's International), a global trade union federation; and Director of the Woodworkers Department of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, one of the largest industrial trade unions in North America.

In addition to his work in industrialized countries, Mr. Street has directed forestry projects in Ghana, Burkina Faso, Kenya, South Africa, Brazil, Chile, Indonesia, India, China, and Malaysia. He holds a Master of Science in Politics & Government from the University of Oregon and has written on poverty reduction and sustainable forestry.

Current Term of Office: 2012-2015


Vice Chairmen

sheam satkuru

Sheam Satkuru-Granzella is Director of the Malaysian Timber Council with responsibility for Europe. Sheam is a specialist in international trade with strong experience in legal and policy analysis relating to the timber and forest industries, communication and public relations.

Current Term of Office: 2014-2017


Natalie Hufnagl-Jovy is a Senior Policy Advisor with the Consortium of the German Forest Owner Associations (AGDW) and a Member of the Policy Task Force of IFFA, the International Family Forest Alliance. She draws from 8 years of experience as Secretary General of the Confederation of European Forest Owners (CEPF) and is a former Board member of IFFA.

Current Term of Office: 2013-2016


Board Members


Pedro Albizu developed his career in the Smurfit Kappa Group, becoming a member of its executive committee and Director of Energy Sourcing. Pedro served on the Board of ASPAPEL (Spanish Pulp and Paper Association) and CEPI.

Current Term of Office: 2013-2016

Olivier bertand

Olivier Bertrand is the President of a regional organization in Limousin for forest owners and Vice President of Fransylva and the National Federation of Forest Owners Unions (CEPF - France). He is also the President of the Commission for Sustainable Development and a former Member for EU Committee of the Regions.

Current Term of Office: 2013-2016


Genevieve Chua has been working in the paper industry for over 20 years. An accountant by profession, she worked for KPMG before joining the industry in 1990. She is currently Managing Director of paper merchanting group Spicers Singapore and Spicers Asia and Honorary Treasurer of the Print & Media Association of Singapore.

Current Term of Office: 2013-2016

hans drielsma

Hans Drielsma is a professional forester with 40 years forest management experience, including senior executive roles with Forestry Tasmania, State Forests NSW and with forestry industry and forest research associations. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Foresters of Australia and a Director of Australian Forestry Standard Ltd.

Current Term of Office: 2012-2015


Juan Carlos Jintiach works with COICA, the Coordinator of Indigenous Organizations of the Amazon River Basin. He also serves as the elected official representing indigenous peoples of Latin America in the CBD, as well as a focal point in the indigenous people’s caucus within the UNFCCC and in the Forest Investment Program (FIP) within the World Bank.

Current Term of Office: 2013-2016


Riikka Joukio has over 20 years’ experience in global business in forest and packaging industries both in technical roles as well as in marketing, sustainability and public affairs positions. Currently, she is the Senior Vice President of Sustainability and Corporate Affairs at Metsä Group (formerly Metsäliitto Group). Riikka is an active member in several forest-related associations, and has had strong engagement with different international stakeholders and networks for a number of years.

Current Term of Office: 2014-2017


Peter Latham, OBE, is Chairman of James Latham PLC, one of Britain's oldest timber companies. He is a former Chairman of the Forests Forever Committee of the Timber Trade Federation, member of the Council of the Commonwealth Forestry Association, and former Chairman of PEFC UK.

Current Term of Office: 2014-2017


Joseph Lawson

Joseph Lawson has over 30 years' experience in environmental and natural resource management and was the Global Director of Sustainable Forestry, for MeadWestvaco Corporation. Joseph holds degrees in Forest Resource Management and Landscape Architecture/Regional Planning.

Current Term of Office: 2014-2017

Herve Le Bouler

Hervé Le Bouler is currently an Expert within the Research Department of ONF (State Forest Service, France), in charge of climate change impacts and adaptation policies. He heads the Forest Policy Department within the environmental non-governmental organization France Nature Environnement (FNE). Hervé is a Member of “Conseil supérieur de la forêt” and from 1976 to 2013 was Director of the National Conservatory of Forest Biodiversity in France.

Current Term of Office: 2014-2017

Michael Proschek-Hauptmann is Managing Director of the Umweltdachverband, the umbrella organization for environmental NGOs in Austria. Previously, Mr. Proschek-Hauptmann served as EU Policy Coordinator in Brussels and Vienna. He also worked as Policy Officer at WWF Austria.

Current Term of Office: 2012-2015


Julian Walker-Palin is the MD of ETANTE, a sustainability and corporate affairs consultancy servicing major corporates as well as government bodies. Previous to this he ran sustainability for Walmart in Europe for 7 years and delivered global projects, including leading on many deforestation issues. He has also worked at a senior position for Tesco.

Current Term of Office: 2013-2016

Sign up for Newsletters

Your email address


PEFC Certified

Forests area: 267 million ha
Forest owners: > 750,000
Companies (CoC): 16,361

(as of November 2015)
Global Stats |

Collaboration Fund 2016

PEFC Collaboration Fund 2016 Apply now v02

Photographs from the 19th PEFC General Assembly

See all the photos from the 19th PEFC General Assembly on flickr!

PEFC Membership/Status


ECOSOC Consultative Status


UNFCCC Observer


IUCN Member


IAF Association Member


Forest Legality Alliance Member


Congo Basin Forest Partnership Member


International Family Forestry Alliance Member


ATIBT Member


TFA 2020 Partner